The Saddest Book I Have Ever Read

Hi Book Lovers!

I have been known to shed a tear or two when I read sad books. Don’t even get my started on the waterworks that come every time I read The Fault in our Stars! But I have recently broken my record for length of time crying due to fiction. The winner of this title is none other than The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

I had heard really good things about this book before I picked it up and have been wanting to read it for a while. Opportunity presented itself while I perused one of my housemates bookshelves while she packed to go home for the holidays. When I saw it I was so excited to borrow it. I was so naive. So unready for what this meant for my future. But, here I am, a mere 24 hours after completion telling you all about my reading experience.

The Book Thief takes place in Nazi Germany. We meet our main character Liesel as she is being transported to a foster family in Molching. The story follows her over the next four years of her life as she learns about the power of words, the joy of stealing, and the importance of friendship. Many of this lessons taught by the Jewish man her family is hiding in their basement.

I have said it before and I will say it again, I thoroughly enjoy a book that brings tears to my face. As much as I kept telling myself how stupid this book was I loved it.

First off, the writing was beautiful. I just loved the sentence structure and word choice. Narrated by Death, this book has an interesting take on the war. One of my favorite parts is when Death is talking about how everyone thinks war is his favorite thing, but in reality it’s like a cruel boss that overworks you everyday. I love that! What an interesting new perspective.

Also, the relationships throughout this book are so genuine and full of love. Liesel moved to a whole new town with a completely new family when she was ten years old. That would be so hard. And yet she is able to form such strong bonds with the people that surround her. Including a man her government tells her she should despise.

Lastly, I think all fellow book lovers can relate to the power and magic of words that we see in this book. I, for one, now what it’s like to crave fiction written across pages and bound at the spine. Liesel loves her books more than anything. She reads them countless times over and even uses them to soothe restless souls during the air raids. We also see the dirty side of words.

And I cried so much! I am pretty sure there were tears in my eyes for the last 200 pages.

I give The Book Thief by Markus Zusak five out of five stars. If you’ve read it, let me know what you thought! I would love to discuss it with you.

Happy new year and happy reading,

Sam

Leave a Reply

