This Is What I Did:

Hey Book Lovers!

The other day I ran to the library to return a few books, but despite all logical arguments my brain tried I ended up leaving with even more books (of course). One of which being This Is What I Did: by Ann Dee Ellis. I was drawn in by the mysterious blurb on the books inside flap. While it did not give very much information on what the book was about I was intrigued. And it turned out my gut instinct to check it out was right considering I could not put it down!

This Is What I Did: is about 13 year old Logan. After witnessing some terrible events involving his very best friend, a girl they both liked, and his best friends dad, Logan’s family relocates to the other side of town. This means new neighborhood, new school, new friends, and new bullies. This book centers around Logan adjusting to the new setting, coming to terms with what he saw, and trying to appease his parents. Right from the get go when Logan moves he begins getting bullied. Deemed “Crapstock” by a classmate he spends the rest of the year being terrorized by a group of students. Luckily, he finds somewhat of a friend in class dork Laurel. They bond over obscure palindromes and it’s rather adorable.

When I began reading this I wasn’t sure how much I was going to get into it. Seeing as the main character is a thirteen year old boy I thought I was going to have a little trouble connecting (seeing as I have never been a thirteen year old boy). But I was proved wrong fairly quickly. I was drawn in by Ellis’s simple writing that easily conveyed everything Logan was going through. I feel like thirteen year old boys tend to be fairly simple so I felt the writing style definitely fit the character. Also, Ellis kept you wanting to know more and more and more. She would drop little hints at what happened through the book. She gave you pieces of the puzzle one at a time before finally revealing the secret towards the end. I love the way she kept me curious. Even as the book ended I continued to be curious. I still want to know what happened after I closed the book!

In the author biography at the end of the book it says that Ellis came up with the concept from “not knowing how to be. Not knowing what to do.” I think that is so interesting and she really did convey this through the eyes of Logan.

And This Is What I Did: I cried.

I would definitely recommend this book. It was a great read!

Love,
Sam

Leave a Reply

